Be Inspired. Finding Relevance in Kendo.

 

SEMINAR UPDATES: 
Please check back for last minute updates.

 

 

The CKF welcomes you to join the 2021 Virtual National Kendo Seminar on June 19 & 20, 2021. In a time of altering priorities, hardship, and distance, the shape of kendo and its values have shifted. Come together to be inspired and find relevance in kendo. 

We are excited to present a lineup of speakers from across Canada and the World. Each session will focus on different skills, topics, and knowledge areas. The event is free to attend for current CKF members, and by donation for non-members.

Please direct any urgent questions to Makiko Ara.

2021 CKF National Seminar

Sessions and Presenters

Keynote Session

Alexander Bennett

Alexander Bennett

Interview

Alex Bennett (Kendo Kyoshi 7 Dan) is currently a Professor in the Department of International Affairs at Kansai University, in Osaka, Japan. He has two PhDs — one from Kyoto University and another from the University of Canterbury. You may know Bennett Sensei through his work as an International Committee member of the All Japan Kendo Federation, and as a former representative and current coach of Team New Zealand at the World Kendo Championships. Bennett Sensei has authored several books including “The Complete Musashi: The Book of Five Rings and Other Works: The Definitive Translations of the Complete Writings of Miyamoto Musashi”, “Kendo: Culture of the Sword”, “Bushido Explained: The Japanese Samurai Code: A New Interpretation for Beginners”, and is co-founder and Editor-in-Chief of “Kendo World” magazine. In addition to holding 7 Dan Kyoshi in Kendo, Bennett Sensei also holds the grades of Iaido 5 Dan, Naginata 5 Dan, Jukendo 5 Dan, and Tankendo 5 Dan.   Bennett Sensei works extensively to promote budo globally, and you can watch his TEDx Talk, Zanshin – the lingering mind in Budo or peruse his author profile on Goodreads.

Spotlight Session

Renée Hock

Renée Hock

Mental Martial Arts

We are honoured to welcome Renée Hock, Registered Clinical Counsellor (RCC) and Mental Performance Consultant with the Canadian. Sport Psychology Association (CSPA), and an NCCP Level 3 Certified Coach. She holds a Masters of Education in Counselling Psychology from the University of British Columbia, and is a pioneer for women in judo. Renée Hock will speak on the unique values of martial arts and how they help us to manage stress and live our best lives. She will delve into strategies for optimizing mental performance, pulling from her personal experiences competing in Judo for Canada at the Pan American Games and the World Championships, as well as coaching both Men’s and Women’s National Teams. We invite you to watch her TEDx Talk on Life Lessons from Judo:  A Judoka’s Tale from 2018, and learn about Mind in Motion, the sport, performance, and mental health counseling practice she works out of.

Presenters

Basics of Kendo Part II

Basics of Kendo Part II

Taro Ariga, Kendo Kyoshi 7 Dan

Taro Ariga is the founder and Head Instructor of Butokuden Martial Arts Centre in Irvine, California. As the founder of the University of Waterloo Kendo Club, Ariga Sensei continues to have strong ties to Canada. Ariga Sensei is the owner and CEO of two successful ventures, e-Bogu and Beancube. This session is a follow-up to his highly popular session from last year. Learn more about Butokuden Dojo.

How I Watch YouTube Videos

How I Watch YouTube Videos

Dean Ara, Kendo Kyoshi 7 Dan

Dean Ara is the Head Coach of Team Canada and Head Instructor at Renbu Dojo Canada in Burnaby, BC. He is passionate about developing young players and has been involved with the Team Canada program for over a decade. Ara Sensei is a successful entrepreneur and is the Principal of Total Product Marketing. In this session, Ara Sensei will help us change the way we binge-watch kendo videos. 

Learning Through the Pandemic

Learning Through the Pandemic

Bryan Asa, Kendo Kyoshi 7 Dan

Bryan Asa is the Chief Instructor of the JCCC Kendo Club in Toronto, Ontario. Asa Sensei is passionate about developing kendo in Ontario and is the President of Kendo Ontario. He is a leader in the clean energy industry and is the Director of his own consultancy, Asa Works. Asa Sensei will be presenting his personal experience of running a dojo virtually through the pandemic. 

Introduction to Nito-Ryu

Introduction to Nito-Ryu

Matthew Raymond, Kendo Kyoshi 7 Dan

Matthew Raymond is an Instructor at the University of Toronto Kendo Club. He has been a Team Canada coach and player and is an advocate of clean healthy living. Raymond Sensei is a Project Management Professional with experience working for IBM and CIBC. As a pioneer of Nito in Canada, this is a rare opportunity to understand the basics of the two-sword method. 

Load to Explode - Suburi for Kids (all ages welcome)

Load to Explode - Suburi for Kids (all ages welcome)

Shigemitsu Kamata, Kendo Kyoshi 7 Dan

Shigemitsu Kamata is an instructor at the Etobicoke Kendo and Iaido Club in Toronto, Ontario. He operates a family business, Kamada Wood Products, in the wood industry. He is an active leader in the Ontario kendo community. Kamata Sensei enjoys time with his family and friends relaxing around the fire. Kamata Sensei encourages students of all ages to join this high-energy suburi session.

Home Compound Physical Training Tailored for Kendo

Home Compound Physical Training Tailored for Kendo

Martin Doré, Kendo Renshi 6 Dan

Martin Doré is an instructor at the Laval University’s Québec Kendo Kai, in Québec City. Martin is active in the Eastern Canada kendo community as a competitor, shinpan, and examiner. He is an Electrical Engineer and is currently the Vice President of the Transformers Business Unit at Hitachi Power Grids Canada. Doré Sensei invites you to join him for his short home training sessions, to stay (or get) fit for kendo.

Mindful Yoga for Kendoka

Mindful Yoga for Kendoka

Junko Ariyama, Kendo Kyoshi 6 Dan

Junko Ariyama is the Head Instructor at the Montreal Kendo Club. She started her kendo in Japan and was a member of her company team, the Sumitomo Marine & Fire Insurance Kendo Club. She moved to Canada in 1998 and after finishing her BA in Linguistics at Concordia University and Master’s at McGill University, she joined the Montreal Kendo Club. She currently works as a speech therapist in Montreal. Ariyama Sensei has a 500-hour Modo Yoga Teacher Training Certificate and will be using her experience in both yoga and kendo to provide a tailored experience for kendoka.

Panel Discussions

Canada Kendo

Dojo Leaders Building Strong Community in Unexpected Places

Saturday, June 19th at 9:50 PDT / 12:50 EDT

Have you ever thought about venturing out to start your own club? Are you struggling to build a sense of community or fearful that your members have lost interest in kendo during the pandemic? Get ready to be inspired by a group of kendo leaders growing kendo in unexpected places and making it work for their community.

We welcome to the panel: David Westhead, Tesshin Dojo; Kyle Lee, Chinook Kendo Dojo; Victor Nishi, Kelowna Kendo Club; and Wilson Humphries, The Rock Iaido & Kendo Club.

2018 Team Canada Women's Team

Interview with the 2018 Bronze Medal Team: Reflections & Perspectives

Sunday, June 20 at 9:10 PDT / 12:10 EDT

Relive the excitement of the quarter-final women’s team match of the 17th World Kendo Championships between Canada and the US. Learn what it takes to compete at the highest level and hear team members’ personal reflections. An interview with the bronze-medal Women’s Team of the 2018 World Kendo Championships.

We welcome to the panel: Akiko Fukushima, Vancouver Kendo Club; Hanaca Yamada, Vancouver Kendo Club; Man-San Ma, Etobicoke Kendo and Iaido Club; Kyrene Kim, Etobicoke Kendo and Iaido Club; and Kianna Darbyshire, Vancouver Kendo Club.

Seminar Schedule

Session Type: Active Session
Active Session
Passive Session
Educational Session

For active sessions, please be prepared to move with comfortable clothing, and have access to shinai and exercise mat.

Day 1: Saturday, June 19th

Eastern Time
UTC -4
 Pacific Time
UTC -7
Session Details Type
11:30 EDT 8:30 PDT Opening Ceremony
Message from the President, Christian D’Orangeville
David Mori, MC
11:40 ET 8:40 PT Basics of Kendo Part II
Taro Ariga Sensei
45 min + 15 min Q&A Active Session
Transition (Zoom open) 10 min
12:50 ET 9:50 PT Panel: Dojo Leaders Building Strong Community in Unexpected Places 45 min + 15 min Q&A
Patrick Suen, Moderator
Educational Session
Transition (Zoom open) 20 min
14:10 ET 11:10 PT Home Compound Physical Training for Kendo
Martin Dore Sensei
45 min + 15 min Q&A Active Session
Transition (Zoom open) 10 min
15:20 ET 12:20 PT Load to Expload – Suburi for Juniors (all ages welcome)
Shigemitsu Kamata Sensei
45 min + 15 min Q&A Active Session
Transition (Zoom closed) 40 min
17:00 ET 14:00 PT “Mental Martial Arts”
Renee Hock, Mental Performance Consultant
45 min + 15 min Q&A
Spotlight Session
Makiko Ara, Moderator
Educational Session
Transition (Zoom open) 10 min
18:10 ET 15:10 PT Learning and Adapting Through the Pandemic
Bryan Asa Sensei
45 min + 15 min Q&A Educational Session
Transition (Zoom closed) 40 min
20:00 ET 17:00 PT Interview
Alex Bennett Sensei, Professor and Author
45 min + 15 min Q&A
Hyun-June Choi, Moderator
Educational Session
21:00 EDT 18:00 PT Social Meetup Open to Everyone Breakout Room Format

Sunday, June 20, 2021

Eastern Time
UTC -4
 Pacific Time
UTC -7
Session Details Type
10:55 ET 7:55 PT Day 2 Greetings David Mori, MC
11:00 ET 8:00 PT Mindful Yoga for Kendoka
Junko Ariyama Sensei
45 min + 15 min Q&A Active Session
Transition (Zoom open) 10 min
12:10 ET  9:10 PT Panel: 2018 Bronze Medal Team Reflections and Perspectives 45 min + 15 min Q&A
Makiko Ara, Moderator
Educational Session
Transition (Zoom colsed) 30 min
13:40 ET 10:40 PT An Introduction to Nito
Matthew Raymond Sensei
45 min + 15 min Q&A Active Session
Transition (Zoom open) 10 min
14:50 ET 11:50 PT How I Watch YouTube Videos
Dean Ara Sensei
45 min + 15 min Q&A Educational Session
15:50 ET 12:50 PT Closing Remarks 10 min

Registration

*You will be directed to a PayPal donation page.

Thank You

Please scroll to the top of the form to confirm submission.

We look forward to seeing you at the seminar!